Info box

Winners were announced on Safer Internet Day, 11 February 2014. Please go to Winners' gallery to view the winning entries.

Follow us Follow us

The competition The competition

***Please note: The European Award for Best Content for Kids has now closed and the winners have received their awards from Vice-President Neelie Kroes on Safer Internet Day 2014 – see details of the winning entries here.***


The European Award for Best Content for Kids highlights existing quality content primarily for 4-12 year-old children and encourages the production of new content that will offer young people online opportunities to learn, play, discover and invent. Awards for the best youth-friendly online content will be made in four categories, at both national and European level. Content produced from youth and schools can address anyone up to the age of 18. 

A competition for European quality content creators
The competition is open to children, young people and adults in Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Iceland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Russia, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain and the United Kingdom.
Children can enter as individuals or in groups (i.e. school classes or youth groups). Adult submissions can come from online professionals and non-professionals alike.
Youth-friendly websites, blogs, videos, apps, games…
Any form of online content may be submitted - from websites, blogs and videos to apps and games – but it must be designed for use by children or young people. The content can be either newly created for the competition or content that already exists and is worthy of highlighting.
Two levels and four categories of awards
National and European winners will be awarded in four different categories:
  1. Adult professionals 
  2. Adult non-professionals
  3. Individual young people (up to 3 youngsters) 
  4. School classes/groups of young people (at least 4 youngsters)
Submission dates and awards
The competition is being launched on Europe Day, 9 May 2013.
National winners in each of the participating countries will be announced in autumn. The winning entries will go on to compete in the European Award for Best Content for Kids, and European winners will be announced on Safer Internet Day, 11 February 2014.
European winners will be invited to the European Award Ceremony in Brussels on 11 February 2014. National prizes will be determined by the organisation running the national competition and may thus vary from country to country.
For further information about how to take part in the European Award for Best Content for Kids, see “Get involved”.